An open letter to….

This month I am taking part in BlogHer’s monthly writing challenge. The theme this month is News.

Prompt – Write an open letter thanking a historical figure for her contributions to the world.

Dear Funmilayo Ransome-Kuti,

I first came across you when reading  ” Ake: The years of Childhood by Wole Soyinka” I was really taken by his description of your fighting spirit. You were a teacher, political campaigner and women’s rights activist. The first woman to drive a car in Nigeria. Watching Fela! a few years ago I heard your name being mentioned; it was so sad to hear again about how you passed away. I thank you for the work you did for the women in your community and the implications this had for women elsewhere in Nigeria. Also for bringing some great beats to the world through your son Fela, who also questioned the status quo though his music.

Thanks

Below are pictures from a gig I attended in 2010 at the Arches in Glasgow, Femi Kuti – Fela Kuti’s son and Funmilayo’s grandson. The beats continue….

2 thoughts on “An open letter to….

    • I received the book as a present from my sister. It was a good read and interesting to get an insight into life in Nigeria during the 30s when Soyinka was a boy growing up in a small village. A good addition to your list!

      Like

Let me know your thoughts, leave a few words...

