The Space to write

Window seat

Window seat, Tinderbox, Ingram Street, Glasgow 2016

 

Revisiting one of my favourite window seats brought back memories of watching the world go by, catching up with friends and writing. Choosing a space to write depends on a number of factors. What stage I am during the writing process;

  • Ideas
  • Further development
  • First draft
  • Review
  • Polishing

At the ideas stage a warm coffee shop working with a low hum of activity in the background. This can be any time of day. Ideally a café with a window seat or booth seat with a good view of what’s going on.  If I am working on further development of an idea somewhere very quiet is ideal, the local reference library or the kitchen table early in the morning or late at night. The next stages can be in a café or somewhere quieter depending on how much time I have. My drink of choice depends on my mood and  state of mind  a latte or mocha to wake up or kick to start my tired brain; a peppermint tea if it’s too late for coffee. The addition of cakes or a biscuit depends on the time factor and if I am alone or not. I like to have a variety of options because sometimes the location is unexpectedly busy or I am in the wrong town!  I am generally trying to fit my writing around the other things in my life and enjoy the creative aspects of attempting to do this.

 

Based on original post from 2015

Let me know your thoughts, leave a few words...

