Weekly Photo Challenge: Solitude

train-tracks

Having gone to the wrong car park I had missed the start of the walk by about 10-15 minutes. My options were to state walking, with the possibility of catching up with the group at some point or return home after a 30 minute drive with the possibilty of stopping somewhere  on the way for a coffee and cake. Given that I hadn’t actually done any walking yet I didn’t feel that I had undertaken a level of activity that warranted cofee and cake. I would recieve no congratulatory message from my google fit app or the satisfaction that I had added another activity to this months tally on runkeeper if I didn’t do some of the walk I had intended to do. This and the warm autumn sun decided my actions for the next couple of hours. What I like about a walk in the country is the feeling that your thoughts have space to expand compared to  when sitting at a desk. Being outside in nature seems to give them a different type of energy; being alone can add that extra level of contemplation.

This weeks challenge is Solitude, and we have been invited to show what being alone means to us. The quote given “Solitude is a place of purification” by Martin Buber inspired me to look for more quotes. Here are four quotes I like;

” A warrior balances solitude and dependence” Paulo Coelho

“Without great solitude, no serious work is possible” Picasso

“I live in that solitude which is painful in youth, but delicious in the years of maturity” Albert Einstein

“Solitude, whether endured or embraced, is a necessary gatewaty to orginal thought” Jane Hirshfield

 

 

One thought on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Solitude

  1. Pingback: Solitude: Lamp Light | What's (in) the picture?

Let me know your thoughts, leave a few words...

